Rebels vs Chiefs live Super Rugby Pacific score update – Super Rugby Pacific

The Chiefs have won seven of their eight Super Rugby matches against the Melbourne Rebels (L1), including their last four in succession.

The Chiefs’ 88% win rate against Melbourne Rebels is their best against any team in the history of the competition (min. 3 games played).

  • The Melbourne Rebels have won only one of their last 11 Super Rugby matches at AAMI Park against New Zealand teams (L10), a 24-19 win against the Highlanders (1 March 2019).
  • The Chiefs have won seven of their last eight Super Rugby matches outside New Zealand (L1), including their last four in succession; their only defeat was a 40-34 loss to the Queensland Reds (Round 3, 2021 Super Rugby Trans-Tasman).
  • The Rebels will be aiming for back-to-back Super Rugby wins in Victoria for the first time since March 2021, following their 26-22 victory against Moana Pasifika in their most recent game (30 April 2022).
  • The Chiefs have crossed the gain-line on 74 carries per game, the most of any team in the competition; the Melbourne Rebels (49 per game) are ranked last in this category.
  • The Chiefs have conceded nine penalties per game, fewer than any other team in the competition; the Rebels (11 per game) have conceded the fewest of any Australian team in this category.
  • Melbourne have made dominant contact on 28% of their total carries, the best rate of any team in the campaign, more than the Chiefs (24%).
  • The Chiefs (151) and Rebels (147) have won the most and joint-second most lineouts (inc. steals) of any team (also Brumbies – 147).

Players to watch

  • Matt Philip has made dominant contact on 37 carries, the most by any player in the campaign; the Chiefs’ best Quinn Tupaea (36) is ranked joint-second in this category (also Harry Wilson – 36).
  • Bryn Gatland has made 69 kicks in play, the most by any player in the campaign, and 20 more than Rebels’ best Reece Hodge (49).

Match detail

We are waiting for the kick-off.

In the meantime, why not have a look at the match preview.

1.00: PEEEP! We are underway down under for this Trans-Tasman clash in Melbourne.

3.00: A bit of kicking in the early stages as teams look for territory.

6.00: The Chiefs are dominating possession (80%) and territory (84%) in the opening stages, and have already won a Rebels lineout.

8.00: Melbourne is struggling here, they have lost a scrum now too, and only managed three rucks to 13 of the opposition.

11.00: A nice attack by the Rebels ends with a knock-on by the hosts near the visitor’s line. Chiefs then win a free kick for an early engagement by the Rebels.

13.00: Chiefs stray offside. Michael Wells opts for the points instead of kicking to the corner; you can’t beat the Chiefs in threes!

14.00: MISS! Reece Hodge pushes his kick just wide. 0-0

17.00: A better call from Wells this time to kick a penalty to touch.

18.00: Matt Philip is short, but the home team has another penalty, this time it’s under the poles; they must go to the corner again. Like yesterday, the ref has called an interesting call of “no try” for being pulled over – that is a try, what is the ref doing!

19.00: PENALTY! Wells opts for the points: What is he doing? – Hodge opens the scoring. 3-0

20.00: Melbourne hands on the ground after Josh Ioane’s linebreak gives the Chiefs a penalty inside the opposition’s 22.

21.00: Ioane boots the penalty out of the goal-line – oh, boy!

23.00: Josh Ioane ghosts through another yawning gap, racing fromhalfway to the 22, but his offload could not find Brad Weber, and the Aussies clear the danger.

24.00: A big scrum by the Kiwis leads to a penalty. They go to the corner.

25.00: TRY! Luke Jacobson crashes over from close range after a sustained bit of pressure inside the Rebels’ 22. 3-5

26.00: CONVERSION! Ioane adds the extras. 3-7

To refresh this page, click HERE. Live In-Play Betting.

The score after 26 minutes is Rebels 3 Chiefs 7


Tries –
Pen – Hodge
Con –
Drop –
Cards –

Tries – Jacobson
Pen –
Con – J. Ioane
Drop –
Cards –

Match Officials
Referee: Reuben Keane
Assistant Ref 1: Graham Cooper
Assistant Ref 2: 
James Palmer
TMO: Oli Kellett


Rebels: 15 Reece Hodge, 14 George Worth, 13 Andrew Kellaway, 12 Stacey Ili, 11 Glen Vaihu, 10 Carter Gordon, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Rob Leota, 7 Brad Wilkin, 6 Michael Wells (captain), 5 Josh Hill, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Pone Fa’amausili, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Matt Gibbon.

Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Cabous Eloff, 19 Josh Canham, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Joe Powell, 22 Nick Jooste, 23 Lukas Ripley.

Chiefs: 15 Kaleb Trask, 14 Emoni Narawa, 13 Rameka Poihipi, 12 Quinn Tupaea, 11 Chase Tiatia, 10 Josh Ioane, 9 Brad Weber (co-captain), 8 Luke Jacobson, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Samipeni Finau, 5 Naitoa Ah Kuoi, 4 Josh Lord, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 1 Aidan Ross.

16 Tyrone Thompson, 17 Ollie Norris, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Pita Gus Sowakula, 20 Mitch Brown, 21 Xavier Roe, 22 Rivez Reihana, 23 Kaveinga Finau.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.